Muhammadu Buhari from the All Progressive Congress(APC) has won the 2015 Nigerian presidential elections, announced the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) on Wednesday, April 1, 2015.

According to the result released here by INEC ChairmanAttahiru Jega, the APC won with 15,424,921 votes, beating incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan (12,853,162). Jonathan represents the ruling Peoples Democratic Party(PDP).

The valid votes totalled 31,756,490 out about 68 million registered voters.

This is Buhari’s fourth attempt at contesting for the number one position in Nigeria.

The former Military ruler garnered 53.96 percent of the votes cast, Goodluck Jonathan (PDP) 44.96 percent

The law requires a simple majority or 51 percent.

Buhari has also met the constitutional requirement to be declared President-elect by getting more than one quarter of the votes in 27 states.

Gen. Buhari’s victory makes it the second time since 1999, that Nigeria returned to democratic rule with a retired military officer would becoming president. The first time was when former military leader Olusegun Obasanjo was voted president in 1999.

It is however the first time there has been a power shift in a Presidential election.

Incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan has already conceded defeat and congratulated Buhari. In statement released hours after Buhari emerged winner, Jonathan said;

I have conveyed my personal best wishes to General Muhammadu Buhari”.

I congratulate all Nigerians for successfully going through the process of the March 28th General Elections with the commendable enthusiasm and commitment that was demonstrated nationwide

Muhammadu Buhari (born 17 December 1942) is a Nigerian politician and a retired Major General in the Nigerian Army who was Head of State of Nigeria from 31 December 1983 to 27 August 1985, after taking power in a military coup d’état.


AA: 22,125, ACPN: 40,311 AD: 30,673 ADC: 29,666 APA: 53,537 APC: 15,424,921 CPP: 36,300 HOPE: 7,435 KOWA: 13,076 NCP: 24,455 PDP: 12,853,162 PPM:24,475 UDP: 9,208UPP:18,220

Accredited Voters: 31,756,490

Total Valid Votes: 28,587,564

Rejected Votes: 844, 519

Total: 29,432,083